Brace yourselves….

Redecorating is coming.

Here’s the first project: lamps!

IMG_2103

It was so ridiculously easy. (I got the idea from Joanna Gaines’s blog here.) I bought a few cans of spray paint in the accent colors I wanted (this pretty blue here, vintage white – which is soft cream, classic white, and flat brown) at Walmart. It was Rust-oleum, I think, because they don’t sell Valspar there, and I needed a store that sold paint AND toilet paper. No one likes to go to multiple stores with three boys just to get toilet paper and paint. Nobody.

Once we got home, I fed the starving baby, plopped the older kids down with PBS, and grabbed a lamp. We got these new at Ross for about $13, I think. They’re less than 6 months old, so no real sanding needed. I just wiped off the dust, wrapped the cord and the shade (which refused to come off…) in bags to protect them, and sprayed. In hindsight, that whole “shake it for a minute” thing really doesn’t mean “shake it until your arm is tired, so basically 20 seconds.” The paint was like sandpaper! But the color was perfect. Luckily, I wanted the distressed lamp look, so I grabbed some sandpaper and went to work on smoothing out the roughness. I thought about a second coat, but I think it looks pretty good! I can’t wait to see it on the side table!

This is just the beginning of a BUNCH of projects I’ll be doing this summer. Thankfully, the majority of them are quick and painless, and I can’t wait to show you! Such an easy way to make your house feel more like your home. (plus, COLOR!)

Leave a Reply

