When Anxiety Strikes…

I have trouble with anxiety. I’m beginning to realize that it’s more than I thought, that my minimization just makes it grow. Today, it seemed like I was facing a mountain with no way around it. Desperate, I went to the only thing that helps on days like this: the Bible. And for some, that might sound cheesy, but it’s what works for me.

I’ve also never shared a quiet time journal, but felt like I was being prompted to share today’s. And I’m nervous as heck about it, to be honest. But here it goes. The verses I found comfort in are at the bottom.

 

Jesus, I am afraid. I am anxious. I am full of worry. And right now, I am giving it all to you.

All of it, I lay at your feet. You are God. You made the world, and you hold everything in balance. These momentary trials in my life are not even bumps in the road, in light of your power. I trust you to take care of me and of my family. And though I give you my fears, I know it will be a continual battle. Please give me the strength to consciously and continually give you my anxious thoughts. You are the God of the universe, and you are, somehow, also my Father. That you would care for a spec of space dust, a blip in human history, blows my mind and leaves me in awe. Why, I’m not sure. You show your love every moment I take a breath. Your love is so great that you hold the world, the solar system, physics itself, in perfect balance just so I can exist. How can I doubt that you will care for my momentary needs?

Jesus, thank you for what I do have: an amazing husband; two beautiful, loving boys; and my health. Remind me that, regardless of how I feel in this moment, you hold my life in the safety of your hands. I can’t see past right now, and it’s easy to doubt you. Give me peace, and help me hand over those worries that fill my mind.

Thank you.

 

 

Deuteronomy 28: 65

Psalm 3: 5-6

Psalm 23

Psalm 27: 1-3, 5, 8-9, 14

Psalm 28: 1-2, 6-8

Psalm 31: 14, 16, 24

Psalm 34: 4-10,17-19

Psalm 46: 1-3

Psalm 55: 4-8

Psalm 112: 7-8

Psalm 139: 23-24

Isaiah 41: 10

Lamentations 3: 55-59

Haggai 2: 5

Matthew 6: 25-34

Luke 12: 22-29

Romans 8:15

Philippians 4: 6-7

Isaiah 41 10

Leave a Reply

