Recipe Review: Homemade Applesauce

applesauce

 

A few months back, I jumped onto the homemade baby food bandwagon. My cousin had told me it would help save money and, given my tiny food budget, I jumped at the chance to save a few bucks. Not unsurprisingly (because she almost always is), she was right. I was shocked! One bag of strawberries pureed would last me two or three weeks. Peaches and pears gave out between four and six traditional baby food jars. And who can forget applesauce? I grabbed the H.E.B. brand off the shelves, thinking it would be better than the baby food. More flavorful, perhaps. Still with that same weird metallic taste. And then, about two months into my little experiment, I looked at the back of the label. High fructose corn syrup? Sugar? Artificial coloring? It’s applesauce, people. What the heck are you coloring?

So, I resolved to make my own applesauce. I love to cook, but this seemed a little more difficult than usual. After all, apples are hard, right? If I’d only known how easy….

Homemade Applesauce

8 apples, cored and cubed (I leave the skin on for a little extra fiber)
1/2 cup of water

Put apple pieces into a large pot, add water, and cook covered on medium heat until apples are browning and they are soft. It’s usually between 20 and 45 minutes. Then, set aside to cool. Once cool, puree or blend them until they’re smooth. Voila! Applesauce!

 

Now, if you want to add a little cinnamon or sugar, go for it! There is nothing wrong with that. Some people even suggest brown sugar for a little extra depth. It sounds amazing. Other suggest adding a little nutmeg or allspice. In the fall, maybe a little pumpkin spice? When it’s homemade, you can get wild with it! Add some vanilla, maybe, or some orange zest and cranberries. I don’t know, but whatever you try, let me know. I’m always up for something new.

As for me, though, I’m sticking with the basic for the moment. It’s still incredibly sweet (possibly due to the Fuji apples that remain on sale), and the less sugar for #2, the better. Slowly but surely, I’ll start reducing the amount for the rest of us, though I’ll never get rid of it completely I suspect. Ah well, at least we’ve got our applesauce.

7 thoughts on “Recipe Review: Homemade Applesauce

  1. Here in Brazil it is very, but very expensive for canned baby food. People normally don’t buy it. They just make their own stuff. That’s what I did. And we don’t get applesauce here so I was forced into learning this one. You know what else we don’t get here? Tofu. Not that I’m a huge advocate for tofu. But I learned how to make it. I never knew before that I could.
    Blessings =)

    • This is one of the reasons I am envious of other countries. I’ve heard that many of the European and South American countries operate on the same mentality: fresh food is inexpensive while processed is expensive. Maybe if America had that philosophy, we’d be in better health. 🙂

      Do you have any other good baby food tips?

      • Hey there. Well, people here make everything for babies from scatch. It’s very common to make little soups, actually pureed veggies/meat. Normally, there would be two or three types of veggies and a tiny piece of meat. However, the meat is just to extract nutrients and accustom the baby to the taste of it. You would actually get rid of the chunk of meat before mashing or pureeing, unless the baby is already old enough. If you use ground beef/chicken/turkey, you wouldn’t need to discard it though. It also depends on your baby’s age.
        Here are some common types of recipes:
        *first of all, your base for cooking and flavoring would be a little oil and chopped onion
        -base, potato, squash, kale, gr. beef.
        -base, potato, beet (great for iron), carrot gr. beef.
        -base, sweet potato, spinach, broccoli, gr. chicken or turkey
        -base, little pasta, squash, broccoli, soupy beans, gr. beef
        -base, rice, carrot, cauliflower, spinach, gr. chicken or turkey
        *grind or puree or mash with a fork.
        *basically you just have to consider putting a carbohydrate (potato, sweet potato, rice, pasta), meat or alternate (beans, tofu, tvp, egg yolk if over 10 months old-but starting out with just a quarter of an egg yolk), and 2 other veggies (squash, carrot, beet, greens, etc.)

        Another great thing to give is avocado. It’s not expensive here so I did that some times. I don’t know if they’re expensive in the USA.
        Also for fruits, mashed banana, mashed berries, you can scrape pears or just make a puree like the apple sauce. If you are able to get papaya that would be great because it’s so easy to mash or just even scrape out of its peel. They are cheap here which is good.

        Hope this helps.
        Blessings =)
        Staci

      • It does! So, do you cook it in a pot or in a crock pot? These are fantastic ideas. And #2 is getting to the age where I need to start introducing meats (as much as I dislike the thought…)

      • Well, unfortunately here I haven’t been able to find crock pots. I’ll have to get one next time I’m in Canada. I Just cook on the stove top. But I imagine you could do it in the crock pot and then freeze portions even. That could be a time saver.
        =)

Leave a Reply

