To My Mom, the Best Mom in the World

Dear Mom,

I don’t say it often enough, but thank you.

Thank you for putting up with me and all my wonderful quirks. Thank you for holding your tongue these past few years and not saying, “I told you so.” Thank you for celebrating my children, despite the difficult circumstances around them. Thank you for spoiling them with marshmallows and late night snuggles and kisses and hugs. Thank you for being a listening ear whenever I’ve felt alone in the world. Thank you for motivating me to clean my house by refusing to come over until I do.

Thank you for still loving me, even though I was horrible to you during high school. Thank you for never giving up on me or my dreams. Thank you for pushing me to be all I could be, even when I was determined to have my own way. Thank you for your hours and hours of hard work, carting me to various practices, going to games, and scouring the Internet for the best colleges. Thank you for loving me from a distance when I wrongly blamed you.

Thank you for keeping me in sports and forcing me to stay in Girl Scouts. Thank you for holding my feet to the fire with grades and never letting me slack. Thank you for all those ridiculous math and writing worksheets every summer. Thank you for letting me watch Wishbone and Bill Nye and Arthur rather than Courage the Cowardly Dog and SpongeBob. Thank you for broadening my horizons with every activity we did.

Thank you for your quiet moments. Thank you for showing that gardens are more than bunches of plants, but are a place of beauty and solace. Thank you for bedtime backrubs. Thank you for always taking me to church, even when you went by yourself. Thank you for painted toes and playing dress-up in your clothes. Thank you for cuddling.

Most of all, thank you for choosing me. Some moms might choose the timing, some moms get a surprise. You. Chose. Me. Not just the timing, but you picked me. Thank you for the pain you went through. Thank you for pushing through those long months of trying. Thank you for not giving up. Thank Dad for me, for sacrificing his Fiat for me. Thank you for facing the unknown, knowing that it might not work. Thank you for carrying me. Thank you for giving me life.

Today is my birthday. Eight months ago was your Mother’s day. So today, rather than waiting for people to wish me a happy birthday, I hope they see this and wish you the same. After all, how many girls can say that they wouldn’t exist if their mothers hadn’t braved the odds, tackled science head-on, and refused to accept “fate.” So thank you. Thank you for my life. Thank you for my boys. Thank you.

215_12351651017_9492_n

Leave a Reply

