Recipe Review – Quick Chili 1

photo (1)

 

 

The first thing my husband said when he saw me cooking was, “Ew… Chili has tomato sauce in it?”

If that’s your reaction, too, be not afraid! I was a little unsure myself about the three cans of diced tomatoes, bunches of beans, and the addition of sugar. (The longer I cook, the more I appreciate the power of sugar in savory dishes. Teriyaki, anyone?) Needless to say, the family loved it. We spooned it over H.E.B.’s knock-off Fritos and added a bit of shredded cheddar cheese: voila! The best frito pie ever! (And as a side note to all you savvy Texas shoppers, the H.E.B. fritos chips are the best. Why? They literally fill their bags to the very top. It’s fantastic.) The true mark of a great meal? The husband took it to work with him today. I guess those tomatoes weren’t so terrible after all.

I did makes some… adjustments to our chili. I soaked about a third of a bag of pinto beans overnight (and into the next night…) to take out one of the cans of beans. I also had a fruit loop moment and got a can of pinto beans rather than kidney beans, so we had double the pinto power. It actually turned out really well, though. The bagged beans had almost a popping sensation when you ate them. It was cool! Also, because my boys are not partial to spicy things, I didn’t add any hot sauce. I also didn’t add hot sauce because I don’t currently own any hot sauce and my weekly budget was already used up, so hot sauce was not had. Feel free to make it as you wish!

Here is the original recipe from allrecipes.com, courtesy of user Pam Smith.

Quick Chili I

  • 2 pounds ground beef (I use 90/10 just so I get a little more)
  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes
  • 2 (14.5 ounce) cans Italian-style diced tomatoes
  • 1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 (15 ounce) can kidney beans
  • 1 (15 ounce) can pinto beans
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon hot pepper sauce

Directions

  1. In a large stock pot lightly brown ground beef, and drain if needed.
  2. Add onion and garlic and cook until onion is translucent.
  3. Add tomatoes, diced tomatoes with chili peppers, tomato sauce, water, kidney beans, pinto beans, chili powder, cumin, sugar, salt, pepper and hot sauce.  Simmer for 30 minutes and then serve.

I will post a picture after lunch today. Left-overs!

2 thoughts on “Recipe Review – Quick Chili 1

    • LOL! That’s what I told him, too. I don’t know what it would be without tomatoes! I think he was thinking of BBQ sauce, which can have either a tomato or a vinegar base. But, I’m not sure… Canned chili doesn’t really scream “LOOK AT MY TOMATOES!” 😛 (And yet he adores it…)

Leave a Reply

